Posted by: Shira Danin | October 25, 2009

My Life with Fibromyalgia

Welcome to my new blog.

I have been writing for two years, in Hebrew (you can see my Hebrew blog here)

I just discovered what a big Fibro community there is outside of Israel, and decided I want to join it.

I feel that explaining why the blog is called “Shira’s Fibro Fun” is vital:

My general view on handling fibro, or the one I try to uphold, is Optimism and Humor. So even in the worse times, when it becomes impossible to be happy and optimistic, I always have sarcasm, which works in its own way.

And when I’m too tired or sad for even sarcasm…crying always helps.


So, now that you all know I’m NOT mocking fibro pain (since I’m living it) let’s get to it.

My love story with pain started about 3.5 years ago.

I was trekking in Nepal with a group that was too fast for me.

I started getting pain inside my left hip joint. After a few hours I couldn’t walk anymore and had to get a pony to take me to the makeshift airport.

After three weeks of rest the pain passed. I thought it was over.

I kept thinking it was over for a year and half.

And then, out of the blue (at least so it seems), the pain came back.

After a week or so, my left elbow joined in on the fun.

After another month, my right elbow joined in.

And finally my right hip joined as well.

That was enough.

It was time for a visit at the hospital.

I was put on steroids (pills) for a week.

That did nothing.

Then I was hospitalized for 8 days for more steroids (via IV) and some tests.

I was released with no real answer regarding my medical situation.

With no name for the condition, I was recommended homeopathic remedies and treatments (such as acupuncture, shiatsu and different creams and herbs).

After a year, things got a little better and I managed to travel to the east for a couple of months. When I got back, and went back to school, my pains came back as well.

I went to a few rheumatologists and was finally diagnosed with fibromyalgia.

I say finally, not because it’s tons of fun, but because there is a NAME for it.

In my next post I’ll put the first thing I wrote after being released from the hospital.

The feeling of uncertainty turns out to be the worst feeling possible.

Since being diagnosed, I’ve been learning to deal with it.

Recently I joined an exercise group for Fibro patients. I’m sure it’s good for me and the support group aspect of it is good as well. We’ll see in the future what affect it had/has on me.

So, I hope you will enjoy or find interest in reading my blog.

I would love to get comments or thoughts, so feel free to:

And just so you can put a face to the name:

Shira danin

Leave a Reply

Categories

