Posted by: Shira Danin | February 1, 2010

Relief and the Light at the End of the Tunnel

First, I have to say, I was certain I haven’t written in months, and having just check I realize it has only been a month and a half.

These 6 weeks felt like eternity.

The reason I haven’t written in so long can be found in my last post: I was stressed!

I had papers due in every course, part A of my final project to complete and of course 4 tests.

With the tests I had for the first time a laptop and printer to write with.

It did help a lot.

It’s a good thing I have great friends, especially one good friend, Omri, who helped me carry the printer and laptop to and from the tests, even when he didn’t have a test that day. Only 1 out of 4 he also did with me.

I’m glad to say that all the papers and tests from this semester are completed.

So far I received two grades, 86 and 80 so I’m very pleased.

While I was between paper to paper to test, I felt like I couldn’t afford wasting the remaining “strength” in my hands on writing a post or drawing or any other non school activity.

So I am a bit excited about getting some freedom back.

The semester was very hard physically.

My hands and legs really made it very difficult on me. My shoulders decided that they should join the fun with very strong pains.

Lately my left hip decided the pain it was inflicting on me wasn’t enough and got worse.

My skin also became more sensitive so the bandages I use on my elbows and wrists bother me. I decided I have to minimize my usage of them and to rest more. I am currently with them because I need them to type.

I continued my shiatsu and acupuncture treatments which haven’t been easy because there is a lot of pain.

I’m still waiting for my condition to improve.

With the watsu treatments (in a heated pool) I took a short three week break but I’m back to it.

The reason I took a break is rooted in the positive things that happened lately.

At the end of December and the beginning of January were my and Tomer’s birthdays.

In addition, many of our family members had birthdays as well. So we had a lot to celebrate!

The present I got from Tomer is one I will have forever.

Of course I chose and designed it, he just suggested that it would be my birthday present.

The tattoo symbolizes the strong connection I have with my family:

Morit my sister is the brown shaded plant, Iris my sister is in purple and the lightnings symbolize my brother Barak, which means lightning in Hebrew. Hadas is the name of the white flowers with yellow pollen. Hadas is my best friend since age 4 and is like a sister to me.

In the middle is the “daffodil king of the swamp”, it’s an old story about the sick king of the frogs that needed a flower’s scent to heal him. None of the flowers wanted to get their petals dirty in the swamp. Only the daffodil was willing to come and help. After he healed him, the king gave the daffodil its crown and that is why it has the yellow center.

My grandmother used to do a silhouette theater for the whole family and after she passed my brother and my family started a website to commemorate the Silhouette Theater.

You’re invited to check it out, even though it is all in Hebrew. The flash animation is amazing.

I felt that I was remembering my grandma with this tattoo plus the symbolism of the healing power of the daffodil. Maybe it could “heal” my Fibro. It does make me happy.

I feel I need to explain why I, suffering from so much pain, choose to take on the pain that comes with getting a tattoo.

  1. There is a good result to the pain as opposed to all my other pain that feels completely useless.
  2. The pain is external, only on the skin, comparing to the other pain that tortures me from the inside out.
  3. Because of the extreme pain in the tattoo area that lasted a couple of days, for those days I didn’t feel the fibro pain.
  4. I think tattoos are beautiful, and that it is art on the body. The most important thing is it did me good and I’m glad I have a “bouquet of flowers” and a celebration of the connections I have with my family.

So a big thanks to Tomer, who supports me and made it possible for me to get this tat.

Thanks to my family that loves and supports me always, and especially when I do things that aren’t their cup of tea.

p.s. the watsu break was because you need to give a tattoo two weeks to heal before you get in a pool. It was worth it.

And to conclude, the light at the end of the tunnel:

Until I finish my degree in my life in Beer Sheva, the south of Israel, I have 179 days, 2 tests, a seminar and the final project to complete.

And so I can see the end.

And I’m starting to see or imagine a new beginning with Tomer (our four cats) in the center of the country, close to our friends in family.

I am full of anticipation.

Relief and the Light at the End of the Tunnel

Firstly, I have to say, I was certain I haven’t written in months, and having just check I realize it has only been a month and a half.

These 6 weeks felt like eternity.

The reason I haven’t written in so long can be found in my last post: I was stressed!

I had papers due in every course, part A of my final project to complete and of course 4 tests.

With the tests I had for the first time a laptop and printer to write with.

It did help a lot.

It’s a good thing I have great friends, especially one good friend, Omri, who helped me carry the printer and laptop to and from the tests, even when he didn’t have a test that day. Only 1 out of 4 he also did with me.

I’m glad to say that all the papers and tests from this semester are completed.

So far I received two grades, 86 and 80 so I’m very pleased.

While I was between paper to paper to test, I felt like I couldn’t afford wasting the remaining “strength” in my hands on writing a post or drawing or any other non school activity.

So I am a bit excited about getting some freedom back.

The semester was very hard physically.

My hands and legs really made it very difficult on me. My shoulders decided that they should join the fun with very strong pains.

Lately my left hip decided the pain it was inflicting on me wasn’t enough and got worse.

My skin also became more sensitive so the bandages I use on my elbows and wrists bother me. I decided I have to minimize my usage of them and to rest more. I am currently with them because I need them to type.

I continued my shiatsu and acupuncture treatments which haven’t been easy because there is a lot of pain.

I’m still waiting for my condition to improve.

With the watsu treatments (in a heated pool) I took a short three week break but I’m back to it.

The reason I took a break is rooted in the positive things that happened lately.

At the end of December and the beginning of January were my and Tomer’s birthdays.

In addition, many of our family members had birthdays as well. So we had a lot to celebrate!

The present I got from Tomer is one I will have forever.

Of course I chose and designed it, he just suggested that it would be my birthday present.

The tattoo symbolizes the strong connection I have with my family:

Morit my sister is the brown shaded plant, Iris my sister is in purple and the lightnings symbolize my brother Barak, which means lightning in Hebrew. Hadas is the name of the white flowers with yellow pollen. Hadas is my best friend since age 4 and is like a sister to me.

In the middle is the “daffodil king of the swamp”, it’s an old story about the sick king of the frogs that needed a flower’s scent to heal him. None of the flowers wanted to get their petals dirty in the swamp. Only the daffodil was willing to come and help. After he healed him, the king gave the daffodil its crown and that is why it has the yellow center.

My grandmother used to do a silhouette theater for the whole family and after she passed my brother and my family started a website to commemorate the Silhouette Theater.

You’re invited to check it out, even though it is all in Hebrew. The flash animation is amazing.

I felt that I was remembering my grandma with this tattoo plus the symbolism of the healing power of the daffodil. Maybe it could “heal” my Fibro. It does make me happy.

I feel I need to explain why I, suffering from so much pain, choose to take on the pain that comes with getting a tattoo.

  1. There is a good result to the pain as opposed to all my other pain that feels completely useless.
  2. The pain is external, only on the skin, comparing to the other pain that tortures me from the inside out.
  3. Because of the extreme pain in the tattoo area that lasted a couple of days, for those days I didn’t feel the fibro pain.
  4. I think tattoos are beautiful, and that it is art on the body. The most important thing is it did me good and I’m glad I have a “bouquet of flowers” and a celebration of the connections I have with my family.

So a big thanks to Tomer, who supports me and made it possible for me to get this tat.

Thanks to my family that loves and supports me always, and especially when I do things that aren’t their cup of tea.

p.s. the watsu break was because you need to give a tattoo two weeks to heal before you get in a pool. It was worth it.

And to conclude, the light at the end of the tunnel:

Until I finish my degree in my life in Beer Sheva, the south of Israel, I have 179 days, 2 tests, a seminar and the final project to complete.

And so I can see the end.

And I’m starting to see or imagine a new beginning with Tomer (our four cats) in the center of the country, close to our friends in family.

I am full of anticipation.

Leave a Reply

Categories

