Posted by: Shira Danin | June 27, 2010

LIFE SUPPORT SYSTEMS- NOT THE KIND THAT KEEPS YOU ALIVE, THE KIND THAT LETS YOU LIVE

Life support systems are critical to the life of a Fibro Girl.

After being in a relationship for over a year with one Fibro Girl – one notices that the environment  of a fibro girl (and no, you didn’t reach the national geographic channel) is a gentle eco system, that the fibrogirl feeds off. I can divide this system to a number of circles, from the closest to the farthest: the close family (+ the close boyfriend), friends, institutions (for ex. University) and somewhere light years away (for those who don’t know a light year is 9.5 Trillion kilometers) is the disability committee (national insurance/social security), definitely a cold, gloomy, unpredictable outer space.

My Shira, luckily – has a supportive family, and you can see how attached she is to them. She knows she has a safety net and many people that love her and will do everything for her. I have no doubt this contributes to her general condition – mostly it impacts her mentally and from there it radiates to her body. On a personal note, it is great fun to see how everyone pulls together to help her and there is a feeling of “together” and a common goal.

Sadly, I have encountered comments and stories where family members and even partners, didn’t know to support and accept this illness, and you can easily see how it affected badly the sick partner.

So what am I getting at?

I turn to you – the family, the friends and anyone who is directly or indirectly related to a Fibro patient – Be supportive! You will see improvement almost immediately. Don’t expect your partner to go tomorrow and get a gym membership or gets Thai boxing lessons, but you can expect a little more smiling from your partner and surely a little calmness that stems from her knowing she has someone with her and she isn’t alone!

I wouldn’t want to deal with this kind of condition alone – and I do see the loneliness that many of Shira’s friends live with, they just can’t find a framework that will contain this illness – Very sad!

So come on everyone – pull together, support and help (it’s worth it)!

Responses

  1. AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • That was so great to see, sadly my family are finding it hard to understand. I have a car crash back in 1999 and i hurt my back and neck so all the pains i have been having have been put down to that untill i seen DR Clake he told me i had fibro. I come home and looked it up and felt sick because it’s real and it’s more then just my back and neck, i asked my husband and my 16 year old daughter to read up on it but they both said we have been living with it for the last 10 years we dont need to know what is going to happen. I do understand this in some way but i need there help, i have just been for a MRI and i am so worried about what is going to come out of it because i family can’t deal with fibro so what if there is more then what. Hold on to your man hun he seems to care so much tell him thanks for telling us all how he feels that takes a really man. x x x x

  2. Shira, That was great. I have a great support system at home, but a lot of family that will never understand the pain & fatigue I live with.
    You are truly Blessed Shira.

  3. Love and cherish you my dear friend! You are a blessing in my life!

  4. Thank you Tomer! Shira is blessed to have you in her life.

  5. Hi just wanted to let you know that have have been reading your blog and have enjoyed your posts very much. I want to brighten your day by giving you a gift in the way of a blog award…. the “One Lovely Blog” award…come by my blog to read about the award and pick it up for your blog. I Have also added your blog to my blog roll page……Lila from “Lila Lost in the Fibro Fog…”
    http://www.lilabyrdakabirdladybyday.wordpress.com

  6. WOW! You are incredible!! We are so inspired by the strength and support showcased throughout your entire blog- It really is amazing. We are always here for support if you need us!


Leave a Reply

Categories

